Advancing Comprehensive Community Suicide Prevention: European Alliance Against Depression (Webinar #2 in a series)

Event Type:  SAMHSA Webinar
Date:  Tuesday, March 14, 2017 - 2:30pm (America/New_York)

The United States (U.S.) Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), the Public Health Agency of Canada, and the Mental Health Commission of Canada invite you to attend the upcoming Advancing Comprehensive Community Suicide Prevention webinar, highlighting the work of the International Initiative for Mental Health Leadership and the National Action Alliance for Suicide Prevention (in the U.S.).

 

When:   Tuesday, March 14, 2017

11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. Eastern Standard Time; 10:00 – 11:30 a.m. Central Standard Time; 9:00 – 10:30 a.m. Mountain Standard Time; 8:00 – 9:30 a.m. Pacific Standard Time; 7:00 – 8:30 a.m.  Alaska Standard Time; 6:00 – 7:30 a.m. Hawaii Standard Time

 

Description: This event is the second in the webinar series, Advancing Community Suicide Prevention, which aims to disseminate comprehensive models of community suicide prevention based on the best existing evidence and drawing on experiences from across the globe.  

This webinar will highlight the European Alliance Against Depression, a multilevel suicide prevention program whose implementation has been associated with reductions in suicidal behavior in several European countries. The intervention includes public awareness campaigns, community gatekeeper training, primary care training, and support for high risk groups, consumers, and families.

 

Speaker:
Prof Dr Ulrich Hegerl

President

European Alliance Against Depression

 

Hosts/Moderators:

Richard McKeon, PhD, MPH, Chief, Suicide Prevention Branch, SAMHSA, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Ed Mantler, RPN, MSA, Vice President, Programs and Priorities, Mental Health Commission of Canada
 

Settings:  Primary Care, Communities, Family Members and Caregivers
Planning and Implementing:  Evidence-Based Prevention, Partnerships and Coalitions, Communications and Outreach, Promoting Mental Health
Strategies:  Identify and Assist, Gatekeeper Training, Increase Help-Seeking, Effective Care/Treatment, Health Systems Change