OREGON: Youth Suicide Reporting Law

June 01, 2015
News Type:  From the Field
State:  Oregon

In June 2015, the governor of Oregon signed Senate Bill 561, which requires the Oregon Health Authority to develop a plan to enhance communications among mental health authorities, public school districts, colleges and universities, and services for runaway and homeless youth to help address loss and prevent contagion after the suicide of a youth 24 years old or younger. Local mental health authorities will have to report a suicide or suspected suicide of anyone 24 years of age or younger to the Oregon Health Authority within seven days after the death.

 

For more information on policies that may have an impact on suicide, see Suicide Prevention Policy and Legislation.

Populations:  Youth
Planning and Implementing:  Finding and Using Data, Policy and Legislation